Senate Confirms Balarabe, 2 Others As Ministers

The Senate on Wednesday, confirmed the nomination of Balarabe Abbas Lawal (Kaduna), Dr Jamila Bio Ibrahim (Kwara) and Ayodele Olawande (Ondo) as ministers.

The confirmation was done by majority of the senators in a voice vote immediately after their screening exercise on Wednesday during plenary.

Osun Defender had reported that Balarabe collapsed at the Senate chamber when he appeared before the senators.

Balarabe was the second nominee to be screened after Dr. Jamila.

He collapsed when Kaduna South Senator, Sunday Marshall Katung, was speaking about Balarabe’s administrative experience in Kaduna.

The Senate resumed the ministerial screening almost one hour after the incident.

Speaking before calling the last nominee, Olawande from Ondo, Senate President Godswill Akpabio said Balarabe admitted that he was exhausted having overworked for some days before the screening.

He said, “The nominee, Mr Balarabe Abbas Lawal said he was quite exhausted, and that he rushed to Abuja for his ministerial screening.”

Kazeem Badmus

The post Senate Confirms Balarabe, 2 Others As Ministers appeared first on OsunDefender.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button